Meditations and Learnings

Meditations and Learnings

This Is Democracy

I need somebody to help me understand the democracy existentialist angst rampant amongst the Democrats. From here in the UK (where things suck for different reasons), it seems a central talking point when criticising Republicans that they will inevitably destroy democracy.

My reply is, “this is Democracy; how do you like it?” Certainly not all, but many of the lamenters seem unaware that the public favour demagogues. The worriers think the shift to the right is unprecedented, and the Republican party’s support is unbelievable. All while shifting further into demagoguery themselves.

If the only choice to save democracy is to waive your right to choose, you’ve already lost it.

On the other hand, I’ve also grown concerned with the outspoken critics of democracy. Curtis Yarvin, a self-proclaimed Monarchist, is not precisely the opposition I’d wanted.

I’m not somebody who wants to rip away the political system fundamental to the West, but a little more perspective on its faults would go a long way.