Meditations and Learnings

Meditations and Learnings

Podcast Recommendations - 13/03/22

Freakonomics Radio - #495: Why Are There So Many Bad Bosses?
It’s been clear to me for a long time that promoting into management makes little sense.

Honestly - Watching Lia Thomas Win
This was an unreasonably fair report on an obscenely unfair event.

The Next Big Idea - Time Management for Mortals: Malcolm Gladwell and Oliver Burkman
This third interview I’ve heard of Oliver may have tipped me over the edge. I’ve added his book to my Amazon basket.

The Daily - Why Zelenskyy Poses a Unique Threat to Putin
This episode served as a primer on Zelenskyy’s unorthodox political origins.

Honestly - The Stakes of a No Fly Zone
Eli Lake made a better argument for a No Fly Zone than Gary Kasparov managed the other night.

People I (Mostly) Admire - #66: The Professor Who Said “No” to Tenure
David Helfand refused tenure because he thinks it incentivises the wrong people to join academia and quashes freedom of expression for non-tenured professors. He sounds like the ideal teacher.