Meditations and Learnings

Meditations and Learnings

Is Equality Superior to Inequality?

When fighting for equality, people assume it is superior to other distributions of resources, services, and opportunities. When distributing opportunity, need cannot be the basis on which we choose the recipient. My need to have a haircut cannot oblige a barber to give me one, and why would his need to charge for his services not supersede mine?
People with less opportunity do not accrue extra entitlements above and beyond those of others. I am equally entitled to buy a banana from the supermarket, even if I have a friend who gives me bananas, as the man with no such friend and no bananas.
No one has a right to something whose realisation requires uses of things and activities that other people have rights and entitlements over.