Meditations and Learnings

Meditations and Learnings

Explaining Consciousness - Illusionism



Jay Shapiro’s conversation with Keith Frankish about consciousness has profoundly changed me.

Listen to it here.

Language makes this a really difficult conversation to have.
I know this deeply because I try to have it with myself multiple times weekly, without exaggeration.
Jay does a remarkable job here.

This recaptured for me a feeling I’ve only experienced before after reading Intuition Pumps and first seeing through the “Philosophical Zombie” thought experiment. I think what Jay and Keith have done is highlighted for me that I was denying to myself that I already believed in illusionism but this made me uncomfortable.

Cognitive dissonance feels so funny in retrospect. That weird feeling of “I knew it was always there, but I didn’t really know it was there”.