Meditations and Learnings

Meditations and Learnings

Is There Truth?



Is there a truth claim to be made about a sentence like “this sentence is false”?
If it’s true, it is false. If it is false it’s true.
My opinion is that there is truth, but there are also questions that are out of bounds.
I can create a Swift array of String objects like so:
let names = ["Sam", "Daniel", "Tamler", "Jay"]
I could make truth claims about the array.
I can say “the zeroth element of names is ‘Sam’” for example.
I cannot say “the 8th element of names is ‘Adam’” - this isn’t even wrong.
Trying names[8] will crash at runtime. It is out of bounds.
Sometimes things can be said, or in this case programmed, which don’t make sense. This tells us nothing epistemologically. We cannot deduce from this “there is no fact of the matter in any case”.