Meditations and Learnings

Meditations and Learnings

Reparations Now? | #BHerd Town Hall

Coleman Hughes recently participated in a “town hall” about the ever-elusive and impossible to pin down topic of “reparations”.

I feel the debate could have used 2 more Coleman’s and one less self-flagellating white woman to be in any way productive.
Ultimately I found myself intimidated by the atmosphere, even from my “safe space” behind my computer at home, and I’m not one to shy away from disagreement. Perhaps it was the certainty and confidence with which some of the panel took for granted certain apparent proofs of white supremacy and racism that I felt seriously need push back. Regardless, I was left wondering how Coleman even approached this situation. I’ve read much that he and John McWhorter have written about the topic, but I would have felt deeply unprepared.
I’m glad Coleman inadvertently got the the last word, but I found the entire hour and a half pretty uncomfortable.