Meditations and Learnings

Meditations and Learnings

Thin Privilege

Apparently thin privilege is the latest pointless gripe, and so since I like to stay hip and cool I thought I’d come up with a few of my own privileges:

  • Temporal privilege: now is the best time in all of history to be alive. We’re truly privileged not to have been born even just a hundred years ago (WWI anybody?)
  • Hair privilege: let’s be honest, a balding man is inherently less respectful. I’m just checking my privilege when I thank my genetics for a good head of hair
  • Job privilege: a lot of jobs suck but I work at a company with a bunch of respectful and well-humoured guys and gals
  • Taste privilege: fortunately vegetables don’t taste like mud for me, so I get to enjoy being healthy

Feel like I could do this all day, but I’ll leave it there for now.