Meditations and Learnings

Meditations and Learnings

My Favourite TV Show of 2018

The highlight for me was the 3 episode documentary series by Louis Theroux called Altered States. I wrote about them for my journal at the time of watching them (spoilers):

Love Without Limits

This was the episode about polyamory and one of my very first feelings was “what a cuck”. I didn’t feel great about any of the participants if I’m honest. Even the one guy I quite liked had a baby and at the end it was announced that he and his partner were raising it “without gender”.

Choosing Death

The documentary mainly looked at three different people who had chosen to die. One was an older grandad with cancer, another was a younger mum with cancer, and another was just a lady who didn’t much want to live any more after her husband’s death, a car crash, and financial instability. It had my mind working on whether or not this was a good thing in each scenario, but I’m ultimately in favour of more freedom and autonomy.

Take My Baby

Louis Theroux nailed it again with this insightful look into the different aspects of open adoption.
The family in which the adopted parents allowed the birth mothers to remain involved was lovely.
The lady who had made away with ~$10000 by lying about giving up her baby was predictable. Fortunately the disappointed family had adopted a different baby by the airing of the programme.
The younger girl who gave up her baby was a more nuanced story but I believe that her decision was ultimately for the best.