Meditations and Learnings

Meditations and Learnings

This American Life's "81 Words" Changed How I Think About Transgenderism

This podcast covered the same period of time in the psychologising of homosexuality as was featured in the recent Radiolab podcasts. Somehow TAL managed to touch me in a way Radiolab had not, in that I was left deeply shaken that history may be repeating itself with transgenderism and gender dysphoria.

In doing some shallow research the initial similarities do not appear present, although there may be a biological factor involved about which I had not been aware. I have been rather outspoken with my friends and family about gender dysphoria and the odd reverance it is paid by many. While I will continue to discuss it where appropriate and I continue to not see the issue as clear cut in any sense, I am now going to be a lot more careful because I appreciate that the stakes are too high for flippancy.