Meditations and Learnings

Meditations and Learnings

Should Being Offensive be an Offence?



I don’t know how I supposed to feel about this, nor how I actually feel.
I do know that I think being offended is currently functioning as though it is some sort of epistemological virtue and this is bad in the long run. We all have the capacity to be offended, it isn’t special to any one of us. What is too often forgotten is that we also have the capacity to learn not to be offended. Too few of us train ourselves to be better at not adopting the role of a victim.
Unfortunately I likely need to at least give mention to the fact that discrimination based on any of what the law deems “protected identities” is not something I would abide in my personal life. It’s not condusive to a better society for all and we should speak against it whenever appropriate. I simply don’t know that it should be a crime.